WVU names Homecoming Royalty and recognizes alumni winners

MORGANTOWN, W.Va (WDTV) — A week of reunion activity culminated at WVU with the crowning glory of this year’s homecoming royalty.

Morgan Griffith and Paige McElroy were announced as this year’s Homecoming Royalty at halftime of Saturday’s game against TCU.

Selected by their peers over two days of voting, Griffith and McElroy were surrounded by members of the Homecoming Court and their families, the Mountaineer Marching Band and tens of thousands of enthusiastic fans, including former students, attending the game at the Puskar stadium in Milan.

Griffith, a graduate student in human resource management and Fellow of Honors College in Avon, Connecticut, is a Student Ambassador at John Chambers College of Business and Economics, and is a member of the Kappa Kappa Gamma Sorority and WVU Women in Business.

McElroy, a senior graduate in advertising and public relations and a fellow of Honors College in Miamisburg, Ohio, is a student ambassador at Reed College of Media, vice president of Project 168 Society, and a member of the Alpha Xi Delta Sorority.

Other candidates included the following:

  • Raeanne Beckner, Double Major in Journalism and Multidisciplinary Studies from Bridgeport
  • Lillian Bischof, a double major in chemical engineering and finance from Wheeling
  • Sohan Daniel, senior graduate in sports and exercise psychology from Chantilly, Virginia
  • Amaya Jernigan, a biology major with a minor in addiction studies from Waldorf, Maryland
  • Lauren Moore, Business Data Analytics graduate student from West Milford
  • Rylan Nemesh, a senior mining engineer from Allentown, Pennsylvania
  • Olivia Steeley, senior nurse from Greensburg, Pennsylvania
  • Raafay Uqaily, a senior biomedical engineer from Morgantown

The 2022 WVU Alumni Association Homecoming and Service Awards were also presented at halftime.

Charles E. Emanuel (’97) is the Outstanding Alumnus of 2022 and Greg Darby (’80) is the recipient of the David W. Jacobs Lifetime Service Award.

Hilah Zia (’11, ’13) is the 2022 recipient of the Margaret Buchanan Cole Young Alumni Award, Ben Ashley (’15) the James R. McCartney Community Service Award, David Hill (’80) the Paul B. “Buck “Martin Award, Jihad Dixon (’17, ’19) is the recipient of the John F. Nicholas Jr. Award.

Mary Marantz (’02), bestselling author and host of the iTunes Top 200 podcast “The Mary Marantz Show,” was the grand marshal for the annual homecoming parade on Friday.

Comments are closed.